Sunday, January 06, 2019

REVIEW: East by Edith Pattou

Book Blurb: Rose has always felt out of place in her family, a wanderer in a bunch of homebodies. So when an enormous white bear mysteriously shows up and asks her to come away with him--in exchange for health and prosperity for her ailing family--she readily agrees. The bear takes Rose to a distant castle, where each night she is confronted with a mystery. In solving that mystery, she loses her heart, discovers her purpose, and realizes her travels have only just begun.

As familiar and moving as "Beauty and the Beast" and yet as fresh and original as only the best fantasy can be, East is a novel retelling of the classic tale "East of the Sun, West of the Moon," a sweeping romantic epic in the tradition of Robin McKinley and Gail Carson Levine.

My Review: This book has been out since 2003 but I only heard about it earlier last year and I had been on the fence about reading. The deciding factor was buying a beautiful hardcover copy and I also bought the kindle version. So this book is a retelling of East of the Sun and West of the Moon which I have never read. The closest I describe the story is Beauty and the Beast meets the tale of Eros and Psyche. Because I saw elements of both in the book. I could have done without all the different viewpoints that switched between each other but I guess it works to tell the story. I really hated the troll queen and Urda but I loved all of the other characters.

I really liked this book and I'm excited to read it's sequel, West.

Rating: 4½ stars out of 5


0 comments:

Post a Comment