Friday, February 14, 2020

Sanditon by Jane Austen & Kate Riordan ~ Review

Title: Sanditon
Author: Jane Austen and Kate Riordan
Genre: Austenesque, Historical Fiction
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Release Date: December 10th, 2019
Number of Pages: 400
Version Read: Print
Buy: Amazon

Book Blurb: In the vein of Downton Abbey, Jane Austen's beloved but unfinished masterpiece-often considered her most modern and exciting novel-gets a spectacular second act in this tie-in to a major new limited television series.

Written only months before Austen's death in 1817, Sanditon tells the story of the joyously impulsive, spirited and unconventional Charlotte Heywood and her spiky relationship with the humorous, charming (and slightly wild!) Sidney Parker. When a chance accident transports her from her rural hometown of Willingden to the would-be coastal resort of the eponymous title, it exposes Charlotte to the intrigues and dalliances of a seaside town on the make and the characters whose fortunes depend on its commercial success. The twists and turns of the plot, which takes viewers from the West Indies to the rotting alleys of London, exposes the hidden agendas of each character and sees Charlotte discover herself... and ultimately find love.

My Review: Alright, so I went into this novel without knowing much about it at all. I knew it took place in a resort town being built and that's all I knew. We have some real characters in this book. We have the hoity-toity Denham step-siblings, the grasping Clara, Ms. Lambe with a chip on her shoulder and the opinionated Lady Denham and Charlotte Heywood. And then we have the Parker family along with the rest of the minor players in this tale. 

So this story does take some creative liberties with Jane Austen's original tale as I don't think there was incest in her version but it has made the book interesting. So while Sidney was a good pairing for Charlotte (which went nowhere) I think that young Stringer would have been a better match for her. But he gracefully stepped down when Charlotte showed a preference for Sidney. This book was left open for a sequel and I hope it happens as now I'm invested and I need more.

Rating: 4 stars

SANDITON REVIEW ROUNDUP SCHEDULE:
January 13 Austenprose—A Jane Austen Blog
January 14 History Lizzie
January 17 Babblings of a Bookworm
January 20 Confessions of a Book Addict
January 20 Living Read Girl
January 25 Margie’s Must Reads
January 26 My Jane Austen Book Club
February 03 The Lit Bitch
February 10 Unabridged Chick
February 10 Laura’s Reviews
February 13 Bookfoolery
February 14 Half Agony, Half Hope
February 17 Scuffed Slippers, Wormy Books
February 18 Impressions in Ink
February 23 From Pemberley to Milton
February 24 So Little Time…
February 24 Vesper’s Place
February 26 Austenesque Reviews
February 28 My Vices and Weaknesses

0 comments:

Post a Comment